Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As both a holistic family chiropractor and an individual seeking to maintain a healthy lifestyle from inside and out, I have been continually working on reducing the amount of toxins, to which I am exposed at home, in the office, and in my general environment. I am also a stickler for reading labels, which has become an essential part of every trip to the store, both educational and concerning. Even if you are already choosing organic, paraben-free, sulfate-free, phosphate-free, and whatever-else-free “natural” skincare products, you may still be using a chemical-laden combination of personal care products. The Skin Deep Cosmetics Database, a division of EWG (The Environmental Working Group) maintain an ever-changing compilation of ingredients and products that are safe for you and your family in terms of makeup, skincare, and other personal care items.

Besides that, there is also the cost component to it as well. If you have ever done a price check on organic “semi-natural” cosmetics, it may be a bit disheartening. I agree that there are products worthy of their elevated price tag and I participate in purchasing such. I also appreciate being in control of what goes on (and ultimately in) my body in terms of chemicals and toxins, so a little investment in ingredient purchasing (which goes much further than you’d think!) and a little time in the kitchen are make me feel good about where and how I am spending my money.

So with some inspiration from my friend Dr. Robin and Pinterest, I rolled up my sleeves and got in the kitchen to make some skincare products, good and safe enough to eat. Over the next few weeks, I will continue to post recipes of things I have made with only a few ingredients that are easy to come by at a local health food store.

Upcoming recipes to be on the look-out for, as I’m very excited to share them with you and my practice members:

Take the journey with me as we play in the kitchen to honor our bodies from the inside out, both in what we are eating as well as what we are putting on our bodies! I would love and am encouraging you to post own recipes, suggestions, and requests for what you are interesting in seeing!

The next DIY series will be on natural hair care products. Keep me posted on recipes, suggestions, and requests!

Have additional questions? Contact below in comments, at drtijana.dc@gmail.com,WebsiteFacebook, or Twitter!

Be healthy & happy, Dr. Tijana

If you do not already have a local chiropractor, call Dr. Tijana at 706.254.4579 to schedule your first appointment for YOU & YOUR FAMILY for a comprehensive health assessment TODAY!

