Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today is the beginning of the new DIY series on natural cosmetic products that can be simply and quickly prepared in your kitchen with only a few ingredients that can be found at your local health food store. Using a combination of recipes I found on Pinterest, I decided to do a test run with the deodorant. Thus far, I have only prepared and have not yet tested it for effectiveness. I will keep you posted on that! Because this was my test run, I chose to make a smaller batch of it and will make accommodations accordingly once I give it a trial period, starting tomorrow during my workout!

Natural Deodorant Recipe

The necessary 4 ingredients:
2.5 Tbsp of organic coconut oil, unrefined
1/8 cup of organic baking soda
1/8 cup of organic arrowroot powder (you can also use organic cornstarch)
10 drops of your choice of Essential Oils (I use Young Living Essential Oils)

Measure the coconut oil; mine was already melted when I used it, but you can also melt it by placing a 4 oz. jar (you’d want to use a larger jar if you are making a larger quantity) in a pot filled with about an inch of water and heating it on LOW heat. Measure the baking soda and arrowroot ingredients and stir them into the melted coconut oil to even out the mixture. Then add the essential oils and mix it all together; I used 5 drops of each Lavender and Joy (a blend of bergamot, ylang ylang, geranium, rosewood, lemon, mandarin, jasmine, Roman chamomile, palmarosa, and rose). The combination of essential oils is entirely up to your liking; as for suggestions, you can try lavender, tea tree, lemon, and grapefruit.

I chose to just leave the finished product in the jar and am content to apply it by hand. If that isn’t quite your speed, you can also put the mixture into an empty deodorant container. My understanding is that you have to let the coconut oil set a little bit by allowing it to harden some in order for it to be pliable enough to be transferred by spoon into the container without leaking. This will be a project for another time for me! I have stopped conventional deodorant over 4 years ago, so I may have to hustle for a container, too!

So try it and let me know what you think! I will keep you posted about my trial run!

Have additional questions? Contact below in comments, at drtijana.dc@gmail.com,WebsiteFacebook, or Twitter!

Be healthy & happy, Dr. Tijana

If you do not already have a local chiropractor, call Dr. Tijana at 706.254.4579 to schedule your first appointment for YOU & YOUR FAMILY for a comprehensive health assessment TODAY!

